october 12, 2016

Hi people!

What I’m Reading
So I stayed up all night reading THE MIDNIGHT STAR by Marie Lu and SOBBED SOBBED SOBBED. Ahhhhhh soooooo gooooooddd what are feelings???

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I was lucky enough to attend her launch event last night. It was so much fun, especially since she talked about how different the series was when she started writing it. Also she seemed so calm and composed, and I aspire to have that level of cool.

https-%2f%2fblueprint-api-production-s3-amazonaws-com%2fuploads%2fcard%2fimage%2f66734%2f9780399167850

I’m also reading THE MOON AND MORE by Sarah Dessen. I’m loving it, especially the focus on family and going off to college. I’m also kinda hoping for some sort of reconciliation with Luke… I liked him… Theo is blah. I also love all the Dessen Easter eggs. (I lowkey squealed with Wes and Bert were mentioned!)

“As long as you were moving, you were always going somewhere.”

16101126

I’m going to be starting the Throne of Glass series soon. I have all the books from the library, and I’m going to dive into it once I get through the other library books I already have. Ha, so it’s my motivation to clear my pile.

What I’m Doing
LOTS OF STUFF.

So the coolest thing to happen last month was Leigh Bardugo’s launch party for CROOKED KINGDOM. I remember when the event was announced. I was showing my mother the wonders of the Jane Eyre mini-series when news broke and shortly after it was revealed we’d have to buy tickets. Tickets were supposed to go up that day, but no one would say when, other than vague hints like “soon.”

I was in ultimate fangirl mode, definitely not wanting to miss out. It was mid-afternoon at this point, and I couldn’t focus on the mini-series anymore, constantly checking Strand’s website if tickets had gone up. At one point, we crashed the Strand site.

laid back parks and rec

I waited alllllll day. Night struck, business hours closed. I began to lose hope.

And then, without a warning, a hint, a sound, a whisper, tickets went up. It was like ten or eleven at night, but the buy link was live. All my refreshing had paid off. I secured a ticket! And thus a countdown to September 26 began.

And now I can tell you it was one of the best book events I’ve ever been to!

Also this book destroyed me. The end.

Then, I was just at Comic Con!

2016-10-08-13-13-24

That was an insane four days of nonstop action and excitement. I spent most of my time on the show floor ogling plushies and shouting out cosplays as soon as I saw them. “Gaston! *GASP* It’s Rose and 10!! Aang! omg that is the coolest Jafar! So many Ariels! Ms. Marvel, I love her. REY!” Yeah, I was fun.

Here’s a mini cosplay collage:

I only went to one big panel, and that was to see the cast of Shadowhunters. They were adorable cupcakes. Dom kept jumping off the stage like Jace whenever fans would ask for a selfie or had something to give him. Kat and Emeraude were so supportive and excited to talk about the relationship between Clary and Isabelle, a light of positivity and girl power. Harry reenacted how he does Magnus’ magic, and it was actually pretty cool. It was a fun panel to be at, for sure! The dynamic between the cast is adorable.

2016-10-08-11-58-322016-10-08-12-30-17

Also… I found BB8 and it was the best moment of my life.

2016-10-09-12-26-27

Oh, speaking of BB8!!! I can’t believe I forgot to include this in my collage!

I’ll leave you with this final image from Comic Con…

2016-10-09-12-30-46

I AM GROOT! ❤ 

What I’m Thinking About
THE ELECTION. Oh my gosh, guys get out there and vote. #ImWithHer

Also, if I’ll get all the things I need to get done, done + get through my TBR pile. #stressed

What I’m Writing
This thing I’ve been thinking about and loving. Not actually really writing, yet. Still plotting and outlining and I can’t talk about it yet! But *happy squeal*

What I’m Listening To
Ha, well I’m back on a Hamilton stint. Brittany and I did a sing along on our way to Comic Con on Sunday, and I’m back. I mean, I’ve been listening to it nonstop (;)) since the album came out, but with the new Bastille album and some other things, I kinda stopped listening to it as much in the last few weeks. Never fear, I’m back.

That’s all from me for now. Be kind to each other,
Mic ❤

Leave a Reply

