june 10, 2016

Hello!

What I’m Reading 
In a turn of events, I just read a screenplay! Book blogger Celeste sent me the script IN THE DEEP aka THE SHALLOWS starring Blake Lively and a mean shark.

finding nemo bruce shark laughing

It was really interesting. I’ve never actually read an entire script before. I didn’t know they could have epigraphs! There were also some bits of character motivation on the page that I loved. The writing was snappy and flowed easily. It was a compulsive read.

I was interested in this film after Blake gave an interview with EW. She talked about how the movie isn’t ‘Bikini vs Shark’ and I liked how the shot of her standing on the buoy in a bathing suit like a badass didn’t sexualize her. There was no side boob. She wasn’t striking a pose. She looked locked in battle.

But she claims The Shallows is deeper than you think. Says the actress, “It’s really a story of us all trying to survive on this planet. It sounds lofty, but when you boil it down, that’s what it is. What I really liked about this is that it wasn’t just Bikini vs. Monster.” She pauses. “But you still get a little bikini and you still get a little monster!” [x]

The thing about me, though, is I’m a major baby. One thing I can’t do is super bloody gory body parts. So I was worried as epic this movie looked about one woman’s survival, I wouldn’t be able to stomach it. After reading the script, there were several moments that had me feeling sick, so I might just wait until I can watch it at home, cover my eyes, and squirm alone during some moments.

tumblr_n7nvxrKDUv1tvoh8uo7_250tumblr_n7nvxrKDUv1tvoh8uo5_250 <– basically me.

BUT all the trailers so far have been cut so well, the script is good, and I recommend it!

Aaaaaaannnndd, back to books!

I’m late to the party. THE WALLS AROUND US by Nova Ren Suma. Holy. Shit. Balls.

I loved the opening pages, but then had a hard time for like the first 70 pages. I hung in there cause Goodreads was full of praise for this book + I did think the writing was gorgeous, and then I don’t know when it happened, but suddenly it had me and I was reading frantically. So, I mean, if you’re one of the few people that haven’t read this yet, DO IT.

the walls around us.jpg

What I’m Doing
This week has been pretty chill. I’m the world’s most boring person again.

Well, on Monday I went with my dad to his first therapy session. Mom and I sat in the waiting room and hoped it was going well. Then together we grabbed lunch at a new Turkish place, had amazing hummus (like omg the best hummus EVER), bought some shoes, and just had a really good time as a family. That hasn’t happened in a long time, all three of us hanging out and getting along.

 

Tuesday, Jess and I went shopping since she needed help getting an outfit for a hot date 😉

She wasn’t the only one who got a new outfit. I found something even cooler than date clothes…

We ordered too much food afterwards: pizza AND sandwiches. But the thing is, it was a great day, cause this particular pizza place doesn’t make the same slices every day. And my ultimate fave is one with ricotta and broccoli. And, you can imagine, they don’t make that one as often. But on this wonderful, fateful Tuesday, BEHOLD:

pizza.jpg

I was so happy. 🙂

Later that day, went back with my dad to the therapist’s office to meet with the psychiatrist.

Wednesday it stormed.

Thursday I had been planning to go to an allergy doctor, but then wasn’t feeling well + the weather. My dad went to group therapy in the morning, and in the afternoon I accompanied him to see his regular doctor. It’s been a busy doctor week.

Friday is now. Shit. I just realized my dad came home a week ago. Wow. He’s doing better. Last Sunday was a really hard day, Monday was a little easier, and then Tuesday after seeing his psychiatrist he’s improved more every day.

This evening I’m going to see Finding Neverland on Broadway with my mom and friends. This wasn’t particularly a show I wanted to see, but I love Pan, and Friend invited me since tickets were cheap. I’ll probably have pictures in the next blog. The next blog will no doubt be cooler cause I have LOTS of plans coming up in the next few days. Broadway, book events, concert, more book events. I’m excited!

What I’m Thinking About
-Like everyone, the Stanford Rapist. But I can’t add anything to the conversation than what is already being said by lots of smart, eloquent people.

-The Tony Awards are SUNDAY! I can’t wait to see all the performances (and watch Hamilton win everything lol).

– I just created a tag on tumblr called ‘lady friendships’ and I’m happily filling with my favorite female besties of film and TV. It’s just sad more aren’t popping into my head right away.

If you’re interested, take a look here: http://thebluecray0n.tumblr.com/tagged/lady-friendships.

I asked Twitter for some suggestions too.

 What I’m Writing
I’ve made lots of progress in #fantasyWIP. Currently at 54k! I’m so close to the end. It was hard at first getting back into the groove of it, but I’m motivated to finish and loving my characters and all my twists.

^^ This was the moment I finally wrote something I was proud of since getting back into drafting seriously. It was enough to inspire me to keep going and push through all the resistance. You gotta hold onto those moments and that feeling cause writing is damn hard.

IT WAS SUCH A RELIEF TO HIT 50K. It felt like winning NaNoWriMo hahahaha.

Such a surreal and proud moment to finally be at this point of the story. It was a scene I’d been dying to write, a pivotal moment for two characters, that really sets up the rest of the conflict and where everyone goes from here. These are always the big juicy moments I love reading about, and exciting in terms of writing. You need to lead to it carefully, and then let everything explode.

And, ya know, what’s better than some musical inspiration?

What I’m Watching
I did a rewatch of season 1 of Gossip Girl. In high school, it was a rite of passage to go see Gossip Girl film and I saw Blake Lively shoot a scene! Ha, funny how this post is bookended with Blake Lively 🙂

Anyway, yeah, said scene! There were lots of paps around and they kept wandering in the shot and ruining it, so Blake got really annoyed at them. As she should since they were disrupting her work!

(Well, I got very distracted trying to find photos from that day, but couldn’t D:) (This is the best I could do.)

blake lively.jpg

Anyway, back to the point of this. Watching Gossip Girl now as an older, different person than I was back then was interesting. Firstly, the slut shaming of Serena in the first 2 episodes really pissed me off. I also used to think the take down of Georgiana was way more epic than it actually is.

Other than that though, I really loved it. I got all kinds of sexual jokes this time around hahaha. Also, Blair and Dan have some great season 1 moments. As someone who loved Dair, this was exciting to see.

Nah, but, I still think season 1 is a prime example of great TV. The Thanksgiving episode is one of the best of all time.

That’s all from me for now. Be kind to each other,
Mic ❤

One thought on “june 10, 2016

Leave a Reply

