may 10, 2016

Hello!

What I’m Reading
Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson! I think I first found out about this book last year from my friend Alwyn, and it immediately piqued my interest. I ended up ordering it online after it came out in a mini book haul since the opening sample pages hooked me. That was last September or October… I know! For shame! I’m so bad.

20160510_165336

It sat on my shelf, and around the time I bought it, I actually just started a class called Genocide. So I’m sitting in class and one of the first topics was genocide in the Americas, and we talked all about the colonial era genocide and mass atrocities committed against Native Americans. Our lesson focused a little more on the east coast (because of our location) and Northern California (because an officially recognized genocide took place there), while ghosting over the Plains Indians.

I was fascinated by all this buried history that happened right here. When it came time to pick a term paper topic, I knew right away I wanted to research more about the Native Americans. I wasn’t sure how to narrow the topic, but once I realized the Gold Rush coincided with the dates of our class, everything kind of snowballed from  there.

(These aren’t even the books I ended up using for most of my research, ha. Side note: I really recommend Murder State: California’s Native American Genocide, 1846-1873 by Brendan Lindsay.)

I really wanted to read Walk on Earth before I wrote my paper, but that just didn’t work out. I saw it getting shortlisted for awards, and would be like, “I need to read this. I need to read this. MAN, I need to read this.” Well a full semester later, I am finally reading it!

I’m almost done too, and I’m really enjoying it. It’s a journey book–Leah does a lot of traveling, and for a good portion of the beginning, she does it alone. It’s a survival book. I thought this book would center more on California and Leah actually in the Gold Rush, but it’s not about that (at least not yet–book 2, maybe?).

There’s also an adorable sassy horse called Peony (and  love that Leah’s horse has such a feminine name while she’s pretending to be a guy) and complex Mrs. Joyner who I’m very intrigued by. I love all the subtle ways Leah notices how life is different for her now that she’s a boy. I super love that she deals with how to hide her period, and I love the mix of kind and shitty people Leah meets while traveling. “Henry’s a poet” cracked me up haha.

I’m really happy I’m finally reading this! I think I’m having a better reading experience because of what I learned last semester and the independent research I did. And it’s also giving me flashbacks to Stacey Lee’s Under a Painted Sky, so now I really wanna reread it!

What I’m Doing
My last final was today! I’m so HAPPY.

I’m looking forward to BookCon and my trip to Chicago. I leave Friday, so I guess now I’ll be focused on checking the weather and packing and narrowing down plans with my friend Mel, who I’m so excited to finally meet in person. I’ve also evaluated my BookCon schedule too many times, but I think I have something close to a final product. It’s so hard since most things are at the same time. Figuring out what to prioritize is tough, but I’ve been thinking about it long enough that I kind of know what I want to get out of BookCon (and I don’t just mean physically, I do mean emotionally too haha). I had a great time last year, so I’m excited for my second experience.

Things are a little stressful at home, though. My dad is in the middle of trying new antidepressants and he doesn’t think they’re working, so he’s not sleeping and anxious and generally all over the place. I hope he’s able to feel better soon.

Mother’s Day was this passed weekend. My mom and I went to see The Jungle Book. Not gonna lie, I basically sobbed through the entire movie.

Main theme started? Cried.
Something remotely cute happened? Cried.
Something remotely sad and feelsy happened? Cried.
A remotely beautiful shot? Cried.

i need a moment hook ouat

Something happens to me with Disney movies! I just can’t control myself. It’s like a pungent overwhelming sense of nostalgia, maybe? I don’t know. But on the whole, Jungle Book was a good film! It was beautifully done, if a tad episodic. Lupita and Idris have the best voices. Oh my goshhhhh. Ha, look at me, Idris and Lupita like we’re such good friends.   Anyway, my favorite though was Bageerha, just like he was in the Disney animation. I don’t really know why. It’s probably a combination of loving cats, the color black, and Bagheera’s total exasperation with everyone (and his good kitty heart). But, oh man, Wolf Mommy was precious. AND HER BABY CUBS. Okay, so, long ramble short, I saw Jungle Book and it was good!

What I’m Thinking About
-I still need to vacuum.

-I really hope I don’t get lost in Chicago.

-People seriously freak out before exams. I always feel like the odd one in a classroom right before an exam sitting there calmly, while everyone around me is asking each other questions and generally panicking. I mean, with the exam in five minutes, it’s either you know it or you don’t at this point. And besides, it’s just words on a page. I don’t know, it’s something I started noticing in high school, and I’ve never gotten used to it. I try to tune everyone out as much as I can, and try not to let what they’re saying influence my own ideas.

What I’m Writing
Ugh, I’m the worst. Progress is not my friend. But now that exams are done, I’m gonna get right back to work.

What I’m Watching
I just started The Man in the High Castle today. I haven’t finished the first episode yet, but it’s intriguing. One of my favorite books in the entire universe x999999999999 is Wolf by Wolf, so if this show can somehow conjure a tiny fraction of the amount of love I have for that book, I will be satisfied.

Other than that I continue with my Pokemon rewatch. I just watched the episode in Cerulean City with Misty’s sisters and I wish their femininity wasn’t presented as ditzy and blah. I mean, I like that they showed their love for Misty in the end, but I would have wanted to see them be awesome synchronized swimmers and also epic gym masters. Not awesome synchronized swimmers who seemed to have no interest in Pokemon. How can you be gym masters and lose your last 3 matches in a row? Meh.

What I’m Listening To
Arctic Monkeys FOREVER.

2 thoughts on “may 10, 2016

    1. I seem to always go to Chicago for conventions!! Ha, I went when LeakyCon was there in 2012 and loved The Bean 🙂 I don’t know how much exploring I’ll get to do this trip, though. The weather might not cooperate. BUT BOOKS! 😀

Leave a Reply

