Favorite Reads of 2014 (and Hotly Anticipated in 2015)

With the year winding to a close, I wanted to take a look back at some of my favorite reads of 2014. Hopefully, you’ve all read these, but if you haven’t, here’s a great page of recommendations.

(in no particular order)

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Winners

Look at that GORGEOUS cover! How could anyone NOT be lured in? Thankfully, this is not one of those cases where the cover is the best part of the book. This is a really great YA fantasy/romance. Kestrel and Arin’s relationship develops beautifully and I love how each of them stay in the roles they are assigned: Kestrel, mistress and Arin, slave. There’s no cheesy declarations or one of them sneaking out to see the other. It’s a very well played dynamic that is interesting and totally absorbing. Very excited to see where this one goes.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

9780147508430_p0_v3_s260x420

One of my favorite books ever! This came out in 2013, but I didn’t finally read it till this year. And oh man was I crazy to put it off for this long! This is a beautiful, beautiful story set in New Orleans in the 1950s! Everyone knows the 50s is the era of women as homemakers, but there are some amazing women filling the pages of this novel. It is not one to be missed!

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater 

blue-lily-lily-blue

The Raven Cycle is one of my favorite series, so the third installment had very high expectations and each one was surpassed. Seriously, one of the best series being written right now. Dead Welsh kings, seers, small towns, friendships, family, humor, haunting writing, there is nothing this series does not have. I’m equally excited and equally horrified for book 4, the end, next year.

Formerly Shark Girl by Kelly Bingham

Formerly Shark Girl

Another book that came out a year ago and took me forever to read. I loved Shark Girl, Kelly Bingham’s first novel about Jane. I must have read it at least four years ago at this point and had no idea there was a sequel until I randomly found it at work. Told in poems, it was simple and evocative.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell 

15745753

I’m sensing I was really bad at reading debuts this year. *hides in shame* Anyway, I’m sure you all know by now Eleanor and Park is a great book. Romance, the 80s, diversity, and Rainbow’s amazing writing. There’s nothing more needed!

We Were Liars by E Lockhart 

WeWereLiars__140612011956-575x883

Man, I totally and completely hated this book. I actually wanted to throw it when I finished. Which is clearly the sign of a book that delivered emotionally. Also, look at that amazing cover. Can we all agree it is quite a beauty? I have plans to reread this, but man, this is one messed up book.

  • Honorable mentions that are currently on my Christmas list:
    A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
    Zodiac by Romina Russell

tumblr_n5mplwKOrn1qdlytco1_128020821306

(DON’T YOU SEE HOW BEAUTIFUL THEY ARE????????)

And now, for 2015 books I’m really excited about:

-We Can Work it Out by Elizabeth Eulberg (January)
18801694

Love, loved The Lonely Hearts Club! Stoked to read this.

-First & Then by Emma Mills (Fall)
I’ve been following Elmify on Youtube for years and she’s amazing. Really excited to read this.

-Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (May)
17661416

I feel so grateful to have read a tiny piece of this thanks to intern perks. Seriously, this is going to be a hell of a book and I’m really, really excited about it.

-The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall (January)
22501053

Look the pitch says it is perfect for fans of Ally Carter and I really, really love Ally Carter! I also am a sucker for pretty covers. I also love when novels take me to lots of different countries and this novel promises at least Paris and Istanbul. Sign me up!

-Poisoned Apples by Christina Heppermann (September)
20483085

Fairy tales and poems! HELLO.

-Princess Diaries: Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot (June)
23215471

It’s a novel about one of my OTPs getting married. Hell yes, I am excited!

-Raven Boys book 4 by Maggie (WHO KNOWS WHEN BUT MY HEART CAN’T TAKE IT)
No words needed, really.

-The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
20443207

Another amazing cover. A story I want to devour.

-Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (April)
19547856

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

If that doesn’t make you want to read this book, I can’t help you.

-None of the Above by IW Gregorio (April)
22896551

Faking It is one of my favorite tv shows and it is the first show to feature an intersex character. I’m thrilled to see a YA novel tackling intersex characters.

-Winterspell by Claire Legrand (September)
18475593

You say New York and 1899, I’m there.

OMG MY MISTAKE THIS WAS A 2014 BOOK. MUST GET.

-This Monstrous Thing by McKenzie Lee (September)
Frankenstien and steampunk and 1818 Switzerland?? I’m salivating.

-Second Position by Katherine Locke
Ballet and romance and angst. Written by my buddy 🙂

I seriously did not mean for my 2015 list to be longer than my 2014 list. Oops. Looks like 2015 is a busy year! Hopefully a lot of these picks make it onto my favorites list of 2015! We’ll see.

tumblr_n4y6j03crZ1smcbm7o1_250

I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

